The YWCA's Teen Leadership Depends On The TWINs
Priscilla Lister
San Diego Metropolitan Magazine
May 1998

Six young women who participate in the YWCA's Teen Leadership Center in San Ysidro will join the
professional honorees at the TWIN luncheon this year. "We are very excited to have all these girls
invited to TWIN, each sitting at a table purchased by businesses," says
Jessica Russell, director of
the teen leadership programs at the YWCA. "It will be great practice for them to talk to the adults."

The Teen Leadership Center is one of the YWCA programs that TWIN proceeds help support...

The Teen Leadership Center also is supported by grants from San Diego County as well as private
foundations. The center's mission is to "provide a safe and secure environment for youth to learn
alternatives to juvenile delinquent behavior with the partnership of the schools, business community,
positive peer role models and adult leadership."

The center is located in the Villa Nueva Apartments complex in San Ysidro...The Teen Leadership
Center began there in 1978, and currently operates in the complex a drop-in program...    "Since the
early 1980s, our YWCA has had at least one teen on the national teen council," says Russell. This
council speaks out on YWCA policies and "influences from a teen standpoint what adult members
are deciding."...

1998 TWIN Honorees

Judy Ayers
Union Bank of California

Bernadette Bach
City National Bank

Deirdre Ballou
San Diego Wild Animal Park

Tracy Bareno
San Diego Zoo

Joleen Schultz Batstone
Stoorza Ziegaus & Metzger

Michelle Bello
McGladrey & Pullen LLP

Thella Bowens
San Diego Unified Port District

Sandy Brock
First Class Packaging Inc.

Mary Brunkhorst
United States Postal Service, San Diego District

Chris Bryant
Bank of America

Marjorie Burchett
Luce Forward Hamilton & Scripps LLP

Ana Cairo
Scripps Clinic

Lynne Carrier
San Diego Metropolitan Magazine

June Chocheles

Carol Coleman
Frazee Industries Inc.

Rachel Fox Collins
Pardee Homes

Kathy Johnson Cooper
Solar Turbines Incorporated

Theresa Cordero
Sunrise Management Company

Louise Cormalis
JCPenney Company

Michele Crowder
Ralphs Grocery

Victoria Ann Cypherd
Ogden Environmental & Energy Services Co. Inc.

Roberta Degener
Burnham Pacific

Althia de Graft-Johnson
United States International University

Margaret Derango
Computer Sciences Corporation

Wendy DeWitt
San Diego Housing Commission

Kathy Dundovich
Kaiser Permanente

Mary Lou Dunford

Nancy Eagleton
Blue Shield of California

Bobbie Espinosa
San Diego Union-Tribune

Dana Ferrari
Wells Fargo Bank

Karen Filimon
Grossmont Bank

Michelle Fleck
Qualcomm Incorporated

Marianne Forsyth
Cubic Defense Systems

Diane Gilabert
Price Waterhouse LLP

Iris Gladney
J&H Marsh & McLennan Inc.

Pamela Gray
University of San Diego

Kristan Gregg
San Diego National Bank

Loretta Gross

Cynthia Guiang
The Townsend Agency

Jeanne Hall
Hughes Network Systems

Marcia Hall
Sharp HealthCare

Karen Hamilton
First Choice Executive Suites

Kathleen Hanley-Ames
John Burnham & Company

Jacqueline Harrington-Sykes
San Diego Housing Commission

Susan Harris
National University

Tracy Morgan Hollingworth
San Diego Association of Realtors

Carol Hopkins
Alliance Pharmaceutical Corp.

Carol Huff
Kaiser Permanente

Kelly Jacobs
Inland Entertainment Corporation

Shirley Jacobs
V.S. Business Enterprises Inc.

Katherine Jennings
Deloitte & Touche LLP

Diane Klimek
Advanta Mortgage Corp.

Patti Krebs
Industrial Environmental Association

Barbara Lupro
San Diego Metropolitan Transit Development Board

Ann Winslow MacCullough

Midori Mandracia
Kyocera America Inc.

Annette Mason
GDE Systems Inc.

Valorie McClelland
BFGoodrich Aerospace/ Aerostructures Group

Debbie McGraw-Block
University of California, San Diego

Teri McPherson
San Diego Concourse

Laura Metzger

Kelly Montgomery
Hotel del Coronado

Sandra Moore
Brookfield Homes

Sally Murphy
Chemtronics Inc.

Sharon Nash
Robert F. Driver Co. Inc.

Tracy Nation
Gray Cary Ware & Freidenrich LLP

Rebecca Ropchan

Barbara Ryan
Children's Hospital and Health Center

Bonnie Schwartz
Schwartz Design Group

Joan Seifried
Retreads Inc.

Christine Shimasaki
San Diego Convention Center Corp.

Mary Shultz
St. Paul's Senior Homes & Services

Sheri Stinchcomb
Cox Communications

Micki Stockalper
Stock/Alper & Associates

Suzi Stunnich
Service America

Tina Tierney
Honeywell Home and Building Control

Ana Tolerico-Lyon
Barney & Barney

Randa Trapp
San Diego Gas & Electric Company

Norma Trost
San Diego Unified School District

Robin Tsuchida
SGPA Architecture & Planning

Shirley Uglietta
Cubic Transportation Systems

Karen Van Ert
Rick Engineering Company

Sharon Wallace
Sweetwater Union High School District

Sylvia Wallace
Kaiser Permanente

Denise Weiser
Quidel Corporation

Debby Williams
San Diego Data Processing Corp.

Christina Willis
Southeastern Economic Devel. Corp.

Donna Wilson
MSK Development Group Inc.

Maureen Wisener
Paradise Valley Hospital
Thank Heaven for
Insurance Companies blog
San Diego
Education Report
Cardiology score card
Retaliation by Kaiser
Missing Medical Records
Warnings deleted from abnormal
test results
Conflicts of interest
Failure to diagnose
Cases and news
missing x-rays
Peer review
Paul Bernstein and writers
Remediating failure to diagnose
Mary Ann Barnes
Kaiser executives
George Halvorson, Kaiser CEO
Profits grow as Kaiser cuts care
Blog: Kaiser Permanente
Dr. Eugene Rhee, chief of
Lynette Seid, CFO San Diego
X-rays (VUCG)
James G. Malone
Dave Horton
Comparison San Diego  hospitals
Kaiser Permanente links
Kaiser department rankings
Cancer score card
Diagnostic Imaging
Medical Records
US Health Insurance companies
consent form
Healthcare reform
KP On Call
Lawyers and doctors
Yvonne Hanzen
Nathaniel L. Oubré, Jr.
Dr. Huathin Khaw
Dr. Jacob Birnbaum
Dr. Catherine Cheng
Dr. Jae Kyo Lee
Marina Baroff
Bertha Aviles
Garfield Specialty Center
Dr. Hamid Safari
Code of silence